How to see different PROCESS STATE CODES available in our Linux system ?

In this post, we will see how to list different process state codes which are available on our Linux system.

To see the the process state code, you can see the man page of ps command, or we can get the required output using below command.

List Process State Codes from MAN page of PS command

[root@ngelinux ~]# echo; man ps | col -b | sed -n "/^PROCESS STATE CODES.*/,+22p" 

       Here are the different values that the s, stat and state output
       specifiers (header "STAT" or "S") will display to describe the state of
       a process.
       D    Uninterruptible sleep (usually IO)
       R    Running or runnable (on run queue)
       S    Interruptible sleep (waiting for an event to complete)
       T    Stopped, either by a job control signal or because it is being
       W    paging (not valid since the 2.6.xx kernel)
       X    dead (should never be seen)
       Z    Defunct ("zombie") process, terminated but not reaped by its

       For BSD formats and when the stat keyword is used, additional
       characters may be displayed:
       <    high-priority (not nice to other users)
       N    low-priority (nice to other users)
       L    has pages locked into memory (for real-time and custom IO)
       s    is a session leader
       l    is multi-threaded (using CLONE_THREAD, like NPTL pthreads do)
       +    is in the foreground process group

[root@ngelinux ~]# 
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments